Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List


2016 Payton Regatta

Susan Stites  | Published on 6/27/2016

On June 18 and 19, Mendota Yacht Club held its 20th annual Payton Regatta. There were 24 boats and over 60 sailors competing in the event. While Saturday brought light winds and no racing, there were two fun and competitive races on Sunday.


This year, the MC Scow fleet competed for the esteemed Mallory Cup, a trophy donated to MYC by former Principal Race Officer Jim Payton. Ron Curio took first place in the MC division, finishing in 1st and 3rd places in the two Sunday races, and winning the Mallory Cup. Paul McMillan and David Sebald took 2nd and 3rd places. David enjoyed the races so much he even sailed some extra legs with fellow MC'er Afan Ottenheimer.


The E Scow fleet saw competitive racing with only 2 points separating the 1st and 6th place boats. Hugh and Tim Sugar took first place with consistent sailing in the two races. Three boats, Phil Zalog, Lon Schoor, and Emily Green/Bob Holz, all tied for 2nd place in the E fleet.


Ben Brewer and his crew took first place in the Keelboat division while Brian Louther and Pam Olson/Jeff Wong took 2nd and 3rd places respectively.

Ron Curio, Mallory Cup Winner 2016
Tim and Hugh Sugar, Winner of E Scow Division
Ben Brewer, Winner of the Keelboat Division 

The Payton Picnic


After an extremely hard day of no sailing on Saturday, MYC members relaxed at the Maple Bluff Swim Beach with a pot luck cookout. As always, members showed off their picnic prowess with delicious appetizers, salads, and desserts including everything from cheese and crackers, bacon, and key lime cheesecake. Brian Louther, the grill master, made steak and baked potatoes to complete the hearty meal.

Grill Masters Grant Frautschi and Brian Luther

The Mallory Cup


The Mendota Yacht Club is privileged to have Jim Payton’s Mallory Cup as part of its trophy trove. Jim Payton, a former MYC commodore and PRO, was awarded the Mallory Cup in 1962 after winning the North American Men’s Sailing Championship in Newport Beach, California. This competition pitted the top sailors from 32 yacht clubs against each other in a series of local, regional, and national races. Jim and his crew, Peter Barrett and Charlie Miller, won the competition. The event created considerable excitement for the Mendota Yacht Club and the Madison area. In addition to local television and newspaper coverage, Jim and his crew were featured in Sports Illustrated and The New York Times. It was rare for a Midwesterner to win this competition. In fact, the only other Midwesterner to win the Mallory Cup was Buddy Melges, owner of Melges sails and an America’s Cup sailor. He won it three times.

The Mallory Cup

History of the Payton Regatta


The seed for the Payton Regatta was a simple after-race party and pig roast at the Maple Bluff Boat House in Warner Park sponsored by Jim Payton. There was no regatta and no trophy, only hungry sailors convening to discuss the excitement of the day’s race, and to satisfy their thirst and appetites. Jim continued to host this event until his health began to fail, but by then the pig roast had become an annual after-race event.


Through a provision in his will, Jim bequeathed his Mallory Cup to the MYC. It was his wish that the cup be awarded to the winner of the race that preceded the pig roast. After Jim’s death and upon receiving the Mallory Cup, the MYC board created the Payton Regatta, a two-day event in memory of Jim. The Mallory Cup would be awarded to the winning skipper of the regatta. Every year, the MYC board chooses the fleet that competes for the cup.


You can learn more about Jim Payton and the Mallory Cup in the Historical Records section of this website.